Outstanding Contributions to the Profession

Outstanding Contributions to The Profession Award

Since 1981, the IAEE has awarded an annual prize for outstanding contributions to the field of energy economics and its literature.  Past winners of the Outstanding Contributions Award are:

2024 James Smith, Southern Methodist University, Cox School of Business
2023 Adnan Shihab-Eldin, OPEC and Oxford Institute for Energy Studies
2021 Hoesung Lee, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
2022 Stephen Littlechild, Cambridge Judge Business School
2021 Hoesung Lee, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
2020 No award given
2019 Ian Parry, International Monetary Fund
2018 Jean-Michel Glachant, Florence School of Regulation EUI and Adonis Yatchew, University of Toronto

2017 John Weyant, Stanford University

2016 Richard P. O’Neill, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

2015 Severin Borenstein, University of California, Berkeley

2014 James D. Hamilton, University of California, San Diego

2013 Carol A. Dahl, Colorado School of Mines

2012 Daniel Yergin, IHS Cambridge Energy Research Associates

2011 William D. Nordhaus, Yale University

2010 No Award

2009 Jean Tirole, Toulouse School of Economics

2008 James L. Sweeney, Stanford University

2007 Rajendra Pachauri, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

2006 Jacques Percebois, Universite de Montpellier

2005 William W. Hogan, Harvard University

2004 Fatih Birol, International Energy Agency

2003 Paul L. Joskow, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

2002 David Newbery, University of Cambridge

2001 James T. Jensen, Jensen Associates Inc.

2000 A. Denny Ellerman, Massachusetts Institute of  Technology

1999 No Award

1998 Colin Robinson, Institute of Economic Affairs

1997 Robert S. Pindyck, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1996 Michael Hoel, University of Oslo

1995 Yves Smeers, Catholic University of Louvain

1994 Dale Jorgensen, Harvard University

1993 Walter Mead, University of California

1992 Richard L. Gordon, Pennsylvania State University

1991 Peter R. Odell, Erasmus University

1990 Robert E. Mabro, Oxford Institute for Energy Studies

1989 Jose Goldemberg, University of Sao Paulo

1988 Pierre Desprairies, Institute Français du Pétrole

1987 Sheikh Zaki Yamani

1986 Mohan Munasinghe, The World Bank and Edith Penrose

1985 John H. Lichtblau, Petroleum Industry Research Associates

1984 Paul Frankel, Petroleum Economics, Ltd.

1983 Hans Landsberg, Resources for the Future

1982 Morris A. Adelman, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

1981 Sam H. Schurr, Electric Power Institute

© 2024 International Association for Energy Economics | Privacy Policy | Return Policy